Women and mothers

International Women’s Day and Mothering Sunday just got me thinking about some of the remarkable women I’ve encountered when I have been researching earthen architecture around the world.

With some lovely images of women doing what women do in Bairam Ali, Turkmenistan …

Baram Ali Market

And I’ve always been intrigued as to where this young girl was going in Bukhara.

DSC05994

If you want to be inspired by words rather than images follow this link to the North York Moors National Park Conservation Blog – to my blog post on another remarkable woman, Gertrude Bell.

 https://northyorkmoorsnationalpark.wordpress.com/2015/03/08/iron-lady/

I like to think Gertrude Bell also provides a tangible connection between my time spent in the Middle East and my time spent now working on cultural landscapes of mineral extraction in North East England!

About Louise Cooke

Louise Cooke - landscapes, archaeology, earth buildings and other interesting things
Image | This entry was posted in Heritage, landscape and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

